It’s raining on the island. . .creation rocks

I’m up on the island visiting my family, and it is pouring rain. I LOVE the rain. My parents even thought about changing my name to “Rainey” when I was a little girl. Living in Southern California, I don’t get much love on the rain front.

Sometimes I look around this place, out at the ocean and the mountains and the sky and the trees, and just feel so stupid lucky to have been born and raised in this corner of the world. I am aware that California is part of creation, and that it has its own beauty (which I am coming to see more and more), but being here really makes my heart sing. What an awesome mind God has to create such an amazingly georgeous place. Maybe “mind” isn’t quite the right word, but you know what I mean. To dream up a whole earth, let alone a whole universe. . .well. . .I’m just saying. It puts the good kind of “fear of God” in my soul. Creation rocks.

I went to my five-year old neice’s soccer game, which was in a glen of beautiful old fir trees. Five-year old soccer is pretty absurdist, but is was great to breathe island air and see her have fun.

Today I’m not worried if I run into old friends and acquaintances on the island and they ask me, “So, what are YOU doing?” There have been times in the recent past where I was totally embarassed by my lack of gainful official ministry employment. Today, I feel like I can tell people that I’m just waiting to see what God’s gonna do with me. . .and yeah! That IS my whole life plan! Look around at this here creation, after all. God’s gotta have SOME kinda plan.

7 Responses to It’s raining on the island. . .creation rocks

  1. Troy says:

    I agree!!

    “For in the true nature of things, if we rightly consider, every green tree is far more glorious than if it were made of gold and silver.” —MARTIN LUTHER

    T.

  2. Megan says:

    Awwww. . . leave it to you Troy to quote Martin Luther! I love it.

  3. Miguel says:

    Let me share with you this prayer I read from an author I really like, I hope you enjoy it:

    “May all your expectations be frustrated, may all your plans be thwarted, may all your desires be withered into nothingness, that you may experience the powerlessness and poverty of a child and sing and dance in the love of God who is the Father, Son and Spirit. And today on planet Earth, may you experience the wonder and beauty of yourself as Abba’s child and temple of the Holy Spirit through Jesus Christ our Lord”
    Brennan Manning

  4. Megan says:

    Hi Miguel:

    I loved your story about learning English, thank you for sharing that. And this quote from Manning is so perfect. He is amazingly wise. Thanks for your encouragement, it helps me to stay focused on what’s real instead of my fears, and I appreciate that so much.
    Meg

  5. reallifeinsc says:

    I love your attitude! He does have a plan and I’m glad you aren’t ashamed of it. Besides, I think that part of His plan is ministering to those cake eating, fish loving, rascals you’ve been blessed with. Oh, by the way, I love rain too. :)

  6. Miguel says:

    Sometimes we wonder why we are doing what we are doing, or why we are not where would would love to be. We live in continuous wonderland and to recognized that it is very hard to do, but as Branning shares we really need to recognize our brokenness. I think our messiness help us to know that it really doesn’t matter..He is there giving us a hand reminding us: “hey, my daughter, my son, just remember I am here besides you, don’t ever forget that”…I am glad that prayer help you…

  7. stormshelter says:

    Beautiful commentary. Thansk for sharing

Leave a Reply

