Dry, dry SoCal is burning

When I wrote this past weekend about how dry California is, I forgot to mention that this year it is drier than ever, since we’ve been experiencing a drought.

Now, huge swaths of the state are burning, and I feel so sad and helpless as I hear the news of fires growing because of the Santa Ana winds. I know that some fires are a natural part of this kind of ecosystem’s self-regulation, but this is craziness.

I know that prayer does something, even if it can’t physically stop the fires, so that’s what I’ll be doing today – praying for the winds to calm, for the safety of the firefighters, and for people whose homes and communities are threatened by fire. God be with all of you.

Leave a Reply

