Dial up?

Does anybody even remember what dial up IS?

Here in burbville, I am accessing the innernets with dial up because I’m DSL-less until November 7.  We are switching from one provider to another, and the new company requires you to have your phone line active before they do your DSL service.  This makes zero sense to me, but I am not running a communications company, so what do I know.   But I wanted to let those of you whose blogs I normally comment on (hi Billy! hi Miguel! hi Melissa! hi Coris!) that I may be uncharacteristically quiet for a week or so.   Also, there can be no uploading of pictures for a while either.  Sigh.

BUT! Perhaps it is all a part of a grand plan to help me WRITE MY BOOK.  I am trying to write 50,000 words in the next 30 days, taking my cue from NaNoWriMo.  I’ll be keeping count on I Prefer Uphill.  Word count so far: 0.  But the day is young, peoples! The day is young. 

The day is young, the dial up is slow and life is still messy.  But there is a throne in heaven and someone is seated on that throne, so praise Jesus anyway.

4 Responses to Dial up?

  1. corisa says:

    NaNoWriMo! You go girl! Forget about us if you need to. Get it done. Feel accomplished. Then come back and say ‘hi’. Remember that it’s words not content that you need to produce. Content can be edited later. Get out the words.

  2. That is ok if you don’t write…anyway I don’t even like the way you write!!! (Just Kidding)….I would prefer some writings in Spanish to see if you really know!!! Take your time write 30,000 words, but at least write some relevant words ok!!I think yo estare aqui esperando tus palabras!

  3. shauna says:

    keep the keyboard warm…don’t make me come over there and take away your TV remote! I nag because I love. seriously though, I am proud of you for taking this on. If you want to meet at the library of your former school:) for some uploading, I’ll meet you there! anything I can do to be encouraging, helpful or whatever, just tell me.

  4. Megan says:

    Dang. I got supportive friends! Thank you all for your encouragement. As soon as I finish cleaning out the car, counting how many cookies we have in the jar, meditating on the fishtank and staring at the wall, I will start writing. I swear!

Leave a Reply

