Lonliness is . . .four days of dial-up

I don’t think I ever would have noticed how connected I feel to the larger world because of the internet without my DSL being down.  For a week.  I mean, it’s not like I live in Kotzebue or Bangolo anymore.  But still, I feel kinda disconnected and out of touch.  I am SO not into dial-up.

I also don’t really know that many Christians in RL who are interested in emerging church stuff, or actually all that many Christians period!  The blogs that I read are an awesome way for me to stay aware of the vivacity of the body of Christ.   But my google reader is only on MY computer, which for some reason won’t connect to the internet via dial up.  I think it’s insulted. (It’s an OS X, what do you expect.)   So no blog reading for the past four days.  Sigh.

The only good thing about being basically without internet is that I’ve written 6,724 words in the past four days.  Well, some of those words were technically written earlier this year, but as my step-daughter would say, WHO CARES?  I just want to have 50,000 words all in one place by the end of November.  I’m not too picky about where they’re coming from, as long as it is all reasonably fresh.  I’ve been pulling stuff from the backs of envelopes, post-it notes, sermons, margins from seminary class notes, anywhere.  I feel a little ridiculous trying to write theological non-fiction first person narrative.  Because, really, in the history of time, like, maybe three people have ever done that genre justice.  And even in my most grandiose moments I don’t think I’m Annie Dillard or Augustine.

But, I’m doing what I can with what I have where I am.  Which I’m sure is in Proverbs SOMEWHERE.

One Response to Lonliness is . . .four days of dial-up

  1. one question, una pregunta, what kind of book are you writing? I have so many ideas in my mind that I would like to write a book also, but I don’t know where to start.

Leave a Reply

