Oh, for frick’s sake.

It has been many, many days since I have posted (eighteen). Honestly, for a few days I was just too wrapped up in my own crap to remember that I had a blog. Then, when I remembered, I didn’t feel like I had anything to say that wouldn’t seriously compromise what I’ve decided are my blog boundaries. This is not an anonymous blog. People know who I am. Hopefully not my address, but my real name and all that.

Suffice it to say that I was in the midst of processing hard things – marriage stuff, ex-wife stuff, step-kid stuff, my own anger stuff – bleh. Ick. It felt too raw to write about anything authentic, and too fake to write about anything light.

But I’m alive, and working through my stuff, poco a poco.

I would like everyone to know the following expenses that occurred in February:

$186 at Trader Joe’s . Twice. (I would just like to add that, entirely coincidentally, is the same price as the CUTEST Coach sandals right now. Ahem.)

$20 because we lost our parking ticket at the Grove parking lot. The guy was an ASS about it, too. When you are not in the category of having cash to spare, this kind of fuck up can make you CRAZY if you let it.

$8 for the tip at Fatty’s, a local vegetarian resto. My friend Shauna treated me and I ate like a pig (albeit a vegetarian pig) and we had amazing Han martinis and everything felt much better afterwards.

$7.50 for a red, cashmere Banana Republic hoodie! I found it at the Salvation Army. A little worn, but who cares!

$29.99 for an infomercial medicine for my dog’s arthritis. I confess – I am a total sucker. I NEVER buy stuff like this, but this ad killed me. They show these dogs that walk and lurch around just like my Tasha, and it broke my heart. Because, you know, MY POOR DOG! Is suffering! I really can’t tell if it is working. I am a little embarrassed that I bought it, but then again, not really.

$0. This was how much I paid for the best prayer I’ve gotten in a long time out at church. This woman Jean prayed for me and it started working on my heart instantaneously. Thank you God for church and prayer.

I’ll try to post something a little more interesting soon. Sorry for the hiatus.

5 Responses to Oh, for frick’s sake.

  1. shauna says:

    poco a poco se va lejos:) thank you for posting!

  2. Endlessly Rocking says:

    Life takes precedence over blog sometimes, and that’s ok. But it’s good to see your words again.

  3. Victoria says:

    tough choice — trader joes or coach sandles — but sounds like you made the right choice…and despite some of your challenges, sounds like you continue to make the right choices by knowing how to re-center yourself through prayer. good luck. :)

  4. Miguel Carpizo says:

    Greetings from Mexico despues de 7 anios de servir en los Estados Unidos…..me gusta mucho estar en Mexico

  5. Amanda says:

    Hi —

    I found your blog searching for Southern California parenting blogs, and I think you might be interested in this opportunity to save cash while helping your family’s disaster preparedenss.

    As a parent and resident of California, I thought you would be interested in learning more about this important initiative I’m currently working on with the state; to raise emergency awareness and preparedness for families.
    My name is Amanda and I’m with Rocket XL, a marketing agency based in Los Angeles. The State of California has asked us to help them identify around 50 leading independent voices in the SoCal online community to become part of this emergency preparedness pilot program. We hope that you will share your views and opinions about this program with your readers through your blog.

    To learn more about this program, please visit this site that we have created for your convenience. http://www.rocketxl.com/californiadisaster/

    As a gesture of thanks for your involvement and to kick-start your own family preparedness plan, we want to send you a FREE survival kit. Please let me know if you’re interested and would like to get involved. We would love to have your voice included and I look forward to hearing from you!
    Thanks and take care,

    Amanda
    Rocket XL
    http://www.rocketxl.com

Leave a comment