Life is wierd, Part One Thousand

The other day I called my old seminary up to get the contact information for a few of my old professors.  I got the first number, and then when I asked about the second name, the lady on the other end of the phone got kind of quiet.

“Oh, ” she said, “Scott Becker died.”

I couldn’t believe it.  I know that sounds like the dumbest cliche, but really, my mind couldn’t process what she said.  I stumbled and said something lame, and she told me he had passed away in September.  September!  I started to cry a little.  This was one of the few professors at Fuller whose classes I really enjoyed.  He was creative and interesting and incredibly fair to all his students.  Also, he was just a genuinely sweet guy.  I had tried, about a year and a half ago, to get together with him and his wife, but it never worked out.

I’m so sad that the world no longer has this particular spirit in it.  I am also disappointed in myself that I didn’t try a little harder to connect with him and his wife after graduation – now there is no more opportunity to know him at all.  It’s all gone.  I can’t even imagine how his wife is feeling.  Last night my husband and I were praying, and I was praying for her.  For some reason, the scripture “he will never leave you or forsake you” came to my mind.  Somehow, that is true, even for Scott’s wife.  I don’t know her well enough to ask her how she is, or if she’s feeling left, or forsaken by God these days.  I imagine I would feel very left and forsaken.

I’m sorry if this post is a little maudlin, but it was this or another meditation on the craziness of the pets.  The cat actually HIT me last night because I was playing with his back foot in a way that he didn’t like.  His claws were in and he just hit me on the wrist, WACK!  I was surprised at how much force is in a little kitty paw.

Leave a Reply

