John Adams, via HBO, ROCKS

I love learning about American history.  A lot of it leaves me feeling a little depressed, but some of it makes me proud to be an American.  I’ve always loved the story of the American revolution – it’s amazing to me.  My husband and I have been watching the HBO movie “John Adams” (I don’t know if that’s the right term, maybe it’s a mini-series?) and it is amazing.  It’s as if all these little pieces of the revolution that I knew are all fitting into a fleshed out context.  Jefferson, Franklin, Abigail Adams, John Adams, the early discussions about the Declaration of Independence – everything makes more sense now.  It’s the best thing I’ve seen on film in a very long time – satisfying intellectually, dramatically and visually.  And how awesome is it that I live with someone as square and geeky as myself, who wants to spend Friday night watching historical films about John Adams.

I wish we could get one of those revolutionary flags to fly at our house.  My favorite is the “Appeal to Heaven” flag.  That’s right, y’all, we’re APPEALING TO HEAVEN we’re so sick of being Britain’s bitches colonies!!  It would be a welcome change of pace from those damn bunny “Happy Easter” suburban house flag things.  God I hate those things.

One Response to John Adams, via HBO, ROCKS

  1. Endlessly Rocking says:

    I found out through an old friend that her husband has period woodworking used as a prop in this film. Apparently a box that he made for their son. Not sure how that happened, except that he’s a woodworker. I mean, I know how the box got made, but I don’t know how it got in the film.

Leave a Reply

